WHoopDirt.com 2022-23 NCAA D1 Coach of the Year presented by Just Play Solutions

For Immediate Release
April 3, 2023

Virginia Tech University Head Women’s Basketball Coach Kenny Brooks has been named as the WHoopDirt.com NCAA D1 Coach of the Year presented by Just Play Solutions for the 2022-23 college basketball season. Brooks qualified for the award by being named as the WHoopDirt.com/Just Play Solutions Coach of the Week in Week 14 of the season.

It was a season of milestones for Brooks and his Hokies in 2022-23. The seventh-year head coach led the Hokies to a 31-5 (14-4 ACC) record, and their first-ever appearance in the NCAA Tournament Final Four. The 31 wins were the most-ever in program history, and the #1 seed in the tourney was also a first for Virginia Tech.

Brooks’ Hokies also defeated eight nationally ranked teams during the season, which is also a program record, and rose to as high as #4 in the country in the AP poll. Until their defeat to LSU in the Final Four, VT had been on a 15-game winning streak (which tied the longest streak in program history). They also finished a remarkable 16-1 at home on the year.

The complete list of previous Coach of the Year winners as well as this year’s Coach of the Week recipients can be found below.

Previous WHoopDirt.com / Pivot Analysis Coach of the Year Award Winners:

Division I

  • 2022-23: Kenny Brooks – Virginia Tech University
  • 2021-22: Dawn Staley – University of South Carolina
  • 2020-21: Adia Barnes – University of Arizona
  • 2019-20: Dawn Staley – University of South Carolina

Division II

Division III



2022-23 WHoopDirt.com Coach of the Week Winners:

Week 1

NCAA DI: Carrie Moore – Harvard University
NCAA DII: Charlie Avercamp – Hillsdale College
NCAA DIII: Cherri Harrer – Baldwin Wallace University
NAIA: Alico Dunk – Stillman College
JUCO: MJ Baker – Eastern Florida State College

Week 2

NCAA DI: Ashleen Bracey – UIC
NCAA DII: Taylor Harris – Fort Lewis College
NCAA DIII: Lynn Hersey – Smith College
NAIA: Darrick Matthews – University of Science and Arts
JUCO: Kim Muhl – Kirkwood Community College

Week 3

NCAA DI: Larry Vickers – Norfolk State
NCAA DII: Grahm Smith – Lenoir-Rhyne University
NCAA DIII: Juli Fulks – Transylvania University
NAIA: Jeff Hans – Thomas More University
JUCO: Tanya Kaufmann – Western Technical College

Week 4

NCAA DI: Teri Moren – Indiana University
NCAA DII: Jenepher Banker -Daemen University
NCAA DIII: J.R. Fredette – Albertus Magnus College
NAIA: Candace Walker – St. Thomas University
JUCO: Clenita “Penny” Belford – Pensacola State College

Week 5

NCAA DI: Tricia Cullop – Toledo University
NCAA DII: Stephanie Lawrence Yelton – University of West Florida
NCAA DIII: KJ Krasco – Middlebury College
NAIA: Bill Harmsen – Dordt University
JUCO: Riley Maye – Harcum College

Week 6

NCAA DI: Kim Mulkey – LSU
NCAA DII: Kerry Phayre – Assumption University
NCAA DIII: Maria Williamson – University of Chicago
NAIA: Ginger High Colvin – Campbellsville University
JUCO: Jamarra Robinson – Indian River State College

Week 7:

Christmas Holiday – no winners announced

Week 8:

New Year’s Holiday – no winners announced

Week 9

NCAA DI: Kevin McGuff – Ohio State
NCAA DII: Kari Pickens – Ashland University
NCAA DIII: Keri Carollo – Wisconsin-Whitewater
NAIA: Mike Davis – Central Methodist University
JUCO: Angelica de Paulo – Eastern Arizona College

Week 10

NCAA DI: Jacie Hoyt – Oklahoma State
NCAA DII: Justin Payne – Georgia Southwestern
NCAA DIII: Randi Henderson – Washington University in St. Louis
NAIA: Kellie Kennedy – Loyola University of New Orleans
JUCO: Olivia Gaines – Richard Bland College

Week 11

NCAA DI: Dawn Staley – University of South Carolina
NCAA DII: Carrie Eighmey – University of Nebraska at Kearney
NCAA DIII: Cameron Hill – Trinity University (TX)
NAIA: Courtney Boyd – Clarke University (IA)
JUCO: Jason Nichols – Morton College

Week 12

NCAA DI: Katie Geralds – Purdue University
NCAA DII: Beth Jillson – Texas Woman’s University
NCAA DIII: Keith Mondillo – Gwynedd Mercy University
NAIA: Steve Edwards – Brewton-Parker College
JUCO: Jason Bonde – Rochester Community & Technical College

Week 13

NCAA DI: Alex Simmons – Gardner-Webb University
NCAA DII: Dave Krauth – Augustana University (SD)
NCAA DIII: Bill Broderick – Christopher Newport University
NAIA: Hannah Moeller – Mid-America Christian University
JUCO: Misty Opat – Cochise College

Week 14

NCAA DI: Kenny Brooks – Virginia Tech University
NCAA DII: Mike Williams – Grand Valley State
NCAA DIII: Kendra Whitehead – Hardin-Simmons University
NAIA: Brenita Jackson – Texas Wesleyan University
JUCO: Mike Seney – CCBC Essex

Week 15

NCAA DI: Lisa Carlsen – Northern Illinois University
NCAA DII: Serena King-Coleman – Fayetteville State
NCAA DIII: Ben O’Brien – University of Scranton
NAIA: Clifton Williams – University of Pikeville
JUCO: Marbely Montas – Union College (NJ)

Week 16

NCAA DI: Lynne Roberts – University of Utah
NCAA DII: John Bonner – Cal State Dominguez Hills
NCAA DIII: Kelly Thompson – Roger Williams University
NAIA: Eric Jackson, Jr. – Rust College
JUCO: Kevin Jones – Fulton-Montgomery Community College

Tagged with: