WHoopDirt.com 2022-23 NAIA Coach of the Year presented by Just Play Solutions

For Immediate Release
March 28, 2023

Clarke University Head Women’s Basketball Coach Courtney Boyd has been named as the WHoopDirt.com NAIA Coach of the Year presented by Just Play Solutions for the 2022-23 college basketball season. Boyd qualified for the award by being named as the WHoopDirt.com/Just Play Solutions Coach of the Week in Week 11 of the season.

Boyd led her Clarke squad to a 33-4 mark this year, and captured the 2022-23 NAIA Women’s Basketball National Championship. They defeated defending national champs Thomas More University back on March 18th to win the first NAIA national title in program history. The 33 total victories were the most in program history for the Pride, breaking the previous record of 31, which was set last season.

On the year, Clarke went 19-3 in the Heart of America Athletic Conference, 17-1 at home, and ended the year on a six game win streak.

Boyd, who just wrapped up her sixth season at Clarke, is the program’s all-time leader in wins.

The complete list of previous Coach of the Year winners as well as this year’s Coach of the Week recipients can be found below.

Previous WHoopDirt.com / Pivot Analysis Coach of the Year Award Winners:

Division I

Division II

Division III



2022-23 WHoopDirt.com Coach of the Week Winners:

Week 1

NCAA DI: Carrie Moore – Harvard University
NCAA DII: Charlie Avercamp – Hillsdale College
NCAA DIII: Cherri Harrer – Baldwin Wallace University
NAIA: Alico Dunk – Stillman College
JUCO: MJ Baker – Eastern Florida State College

Week 2

NCAA DI: Ashleen Bracey – UIC
NCAA DII: Taylor Harris – Fort Lewis College
NCAA DIII: Lynn Hersey – Smith College
NAIA: Darrick Matthews – University of Science and Arts
JUCO: Kim Muhl – Kirkwood Community College

Week 3

NCAA DI: Larry Vickers – Norfolk State
NCAA DII: Grahm Smith – Lenoir-Rhyne University
NCAA DIII: Juli Fulks – Transylvania University
NAIA: Jeff Hans – Thomas More University
JUCO: Tanya Kaufmann – Western Technical College

Week 4

NCAA DI: Teri Moren – Indiana University
NCAA DII: Jenepher Banker -Daemen University
NCAA DIII: J.R. Fredette – Albertus Magnus College
NAIA: Candace Walker – St. Thomas University
JUCO: Clenita “Penny” Belford – Pensacola State College

Week 5

NCAA DI: Tricia Cullop – Toledo University
NCAA DII: Stephanie Lawrence Yelton – University of West Florida
NCAA DIII: KJ Krasco – Middlebury College
NAIA: Bill Harmsen – Dordt University
JUCO: Riley Maye – Harcum College

Week 6

NCAA DI: Kim Mulkey – LSU
NCAA DII: Kerry Phayre – Assumption University
NCAA DIII: Maria Williamson – University of Chicago
NAIA: Ginger High Colvin – Campbellsville University
JUCO: Jamarra Robinson – Indian River State College

Week 7:

Christmas Holiday – no winners announced

Week 8:

New Year’s Holiday – no winners announced

Week 9

NCAA DI: Kevin McGuff – Ohio State
NCAA DII: Kari Pickens – Ashland University
NCAA DIII: Keri Carollo – Wisconsin-Whitewater
NAIA: Mike Davis – Central Methodist University
JUCO: Angelica de Paulo – Eastern Arizona College

Week 10

NCAA DI: Jacie Hoyt – Oklahoma State
NCAA DII: Justin Payne – Georgia Southwestern
NCAA DIII: Randi Henderson – Washington University in St. Louis
NAIA: Kellie Kennedy – Loyola University of New Orleans
JUCO: Olivia Gaines – Richard Bland College

Week 11

NCAA DI: Dawn Staley – University of South Carolina
NCAA DII: Carrie Eighmey – University of Nebraska at Kearney
NCAA DIII: Cameron Hill – Trinity University (TX)
NAIA: Courtney Boyd – Clarke University (IA)
JUCO: Jason Nichols – Morton College

Week 12

NCAA DI: Katie Geralds – Purdue University
NCAA DII: Beth Jillson – Texas Woman’s University
NCAA DIII: Keith Mondillo – Gwynedd Mercy University
NAIA: Steve Edwards – Brewton-Parker College
JUCO: Jason Bonde – Rochester Community & Technical College

Week 13

NCAA DI: Alex Simmons – Gardner-Webb University
NCAA DII: Dave Krauth – Augustana University (SD)
NCAA DIII: Bill Broderick – Christopher Newport University
NAIA: Hannah Moeller – Mid-America Christian University
JUCO: Misty Opat – Cochise College

Week 14

NCAA DI: Kenny Brooks – Virginia Tech University
NCAA DII: Mike Williams – Grand Valley State
NCAA DIII: Kendra Whitehead – Hardin-Simmons University
NAIA: Brenita Jackson – Texas Wesleyan University
JUCO: Mike Seney – CCBC Essex

Week 15

NCAA DI: Lisa Carlsen – Northern Illinois University
NCAA DII: Serena King-Coleman – Fayetteville State
NCAA DIII: Ben O’Brien – University of Scranton
NAIA: Clifton Williams – University of Pikeville
JUCO: Marbely Montas – Union College (NJ)

Week 16

NCAA DI: Lynne Roberts – University of Utah
NCAA DII: John Bonner – Cal State Dominguez Hills
NCAA DIII: Kelly Thompson – Roger Williams University
NAIA: Eric Jackson, Jr. – Rust College
JUCO: Kevin Jones – Fulton-Montgomery Community College

Tagged with: