WEEK 16: WHoopDirt.com Coach of the Week presented by Just Play Solutions

Congratulations to the following coaches who have been selected as the Week 16 WHoopDirt.com Coach of the Week presented by Just Play Solutions. These coaches are now eligible to receive the WHoopDirt.com National Coach of the Year Award presented by Just Play Solutions which will be announced at the conclusion of the 2022-23 college basketball season.

This is the fourth season that WHoopDirt.com has run the Coach of the Week and Coach of the Year programs. The list of 2022-23 Coach of the Week winners, as well as previous Coach of the Year winners can be found below this week’s recipients

To nominate coaches for future weeks, please email [email protected] with your selection(s).

The Week 16 winners are:

NCAA D1: Lynne Roberts – University of Utah

Weekly Record (Overall): 2-0 (25-3)
Past week’s results: 101-76 W vs Cal, 84-78 W vs #3 Stanford.
Highlights: Utah clinched their first-ever Pac-12 Regular Season Championship after taking down #3 Stanford 84-78 on Saturday. It was only the second time Utah has ever beaten Stanford, and it was the highest ranked opponent the program has ever beaten. The Utes are now 14-0 at home, 15-3 in the Pac-12, and are ranked #3 in this week’s poll.

NCAA D2: John Bonner – Cal State Dominguez Hills

Weekly Record (Overall): 2-0 (27-1)
Past week’s results: 89-62 W at SF State, 92-65 W at Cal State Monterey Bay.
Highlights: Two blowout wins on the road last week for Bonner and his squad wrapped up an historic regular season. The Toros have captured the CCAA regular season champion (21-1), and the 27 wins are the most in program history. They are also a perfect 13-0 on the road this season.

NCAA D3: Kelly Thompson – Roger Williams University

Weekly Record (Overall): 3-0 (25-3)
Past week’s results: 105-62 W vs Nichols, 56-40 W vs Western New England, 61-51 W vs Endicott.
Highlights: The Hawks won all three games in the CCC Conference Tournament last week to capture their second straight league title. Along the way to winning it all, RWU went 18-0 in the conference, 15-0 at home, and are currently riding a 13-game winning streak.

NAIA: Eric Jackson, Jr – Rust College

Weekly Record (Overall): 3-0 (22-5)
Past week’s results: 64-47 W vs SUNO, 58-45 W vs Dillard, 51-50 W vs Philander Smith.
Highlights: Rust ran the table last week to capture the GCAC Tournament Championship, and claim a spot in the upcoming national tournament. The Bearcats won the title game in dramatic fashion, as they hit a put back with under 2 seconds remaining vs Philander Smith on Sunday (video HERE). They have now won back-to-back GCAC championships.

JUCO: Kevin Jones – Fulton-Montgomery CC

Weekly Record (Overall): 3-0 (21-0)
Past week’s results: 82-56 W vs Tompkins-Cortland, 78-56 W vs North Country, 84-45 W vs Onondaga.
Highlights: The Raiders captured the Region 3 tournament with three blowout victories, and kept their undefeated season alive (21-0). The #2 NJCAA D3 team in the nation, FMCC outscored opponents by 27ppg this season, and also captured the Mountain Valley Conference Championship.

2022-23 WHoopDirt.com Coach of the Week Winners:

Week 1

NCAA DI: Carrie Moore – Harvard University
NCAA DII: Charlie Avercamp – Hillsdale College
NCAA DIII: Cherri Harrer – Baldwin Wallace University
NAIA: Alico Dunk – Stillman College
JUCO: MJ Baker – Eastern Florida State College

Week 2

NCAA DI: Ashleen Bracey – UIC
NCAA DII: Taylor Harris – Fort Lewis College
NCAA DIII: Lynn Hersey – Smith College
NAIA: Darrick Matthews – University of Science and Arts
JUCO: Kim Muhl – Kirkwood Community College

Week 3

NCAA DI: Larry Vickers – Norfolk State
NCAA DII: Grahm Smith – Lenoir-Rhyne University
NCAA DIII: Juli Fulks – Transylvania University
NAIA: Jeff Hans – Thomas More University
JUCO: Tanya Kaufmann – Western Technical College

Week 4

NCAA DI: Teri Moren – Indiana University
NCAA DII: Jenepher Banker -Daemen University
NCAA DIII: J.R. Fredette – Albertus Magnus College
NAIA: Candace Walker – St. Thomas University
JUCO: Clenita “Penny” Belford – Pensacola State College

Week 5

NCAA DI: Tricia Cullop – Toledo University
NCAA DII: Stephanie Lawrence Yelton – University of West Florida
NCAA DIII: KJ Krasco – Middlebury College
NAIA: Bill Harmsen – Dordt University
JUCO: Riley Maye – Harcum College

Week 6

NCAA DI: Kim Mulkey – LSU
NCAA DII: Kerry Phayre – Assumption University
NCAA DIII: Maria Williamson – University of Chicago
NAIA: Ginger High Colvin – Campbellsville University
JUCO: Jamarra Robinson – Indian River State College

Week 7:

Christmas Holiday – no winners announced

Week 8:

New Year’s Holiday – no winners announced

Week 9

NCAA DI: Kevin McGuff – Ohio State
NCAA DII: Kari Pickens – Ashland University
NCAA DIII: Keri Carollo – Wisconsin-Whitewater
NAIA: Mike Davis – Central Methodist University
JUCO: Angelica de Paulo – Eastern Arizona College

Week 10

NCAA DI: Jacie Hoyt – Oklahoma State
NCAA DII: Justin Payne – Georgia Southwestern
NCAA DIII: Randi Henderson – Washington University in St. Louis
NAIA: Kellie Kennedy – Loyola University of New Orleans
JUCO: Olivia Gaines – Richard Bland College

Week 11

NCAA DI: Dawn Staley – University of South Carolina
NCAA DII: Carrie Eighmey – University of Nebraska at Kearney
NCAA DIII: Cameron Hill – Trinity University (TX)
NAIA: Courtney Boyd – Clarke University (IA)
JUCO: Jason Nichols – Morton College

Week 12

NCAA DI: Katie Geralds – Purdue University
NCAA DII: Beth Jillson – Texas Woman’s University
NCAA DIII: Keith Mondillo – Gwynedd Mercy University
NAIA: Steve Edwards – Brewton-Parker College
JUCO: Jason Bonde – Rochester Community & Technical College

Week 13

NCAA DI: Alex Simmons – Gardner-Webb University
NCAA DII: Dave Krauth – Augustana University (SD)
NCAA DIII: Bill Broderick – Christopher Newport University
NAIA: Hannah Moeller – Mid-America Christian University
JUCO: Misty Opat – Cochise College

Week 14

NCAA DI: Kenny Brooks – James Madison University
NCAA DII: Mike Williams – Grand Valley State
NCAA DIII: Kendra Whitehead – Hardin-Simmons University
NAIA: Brenita Jackson – Texas Wesleyan University
JUCO: Mike Seney – CCBC Essex

Week 15

NCAA DI: Lisa Carlsen – Northern Illinois University
NCAA DII: Serena King-Coleman – Fayetteville State
NCAA DIII: Ben O’Brien – University of Scranton
NAIA: Clifton Williams – University of Pikeville
JUCO: Marbely Montas – Union College (NJ)

Previous WHoopDirt.com / Coach of the Year Award Winners:

Division I

Division II

Division III



About WHoopDirt.com

WHoopDirt.com is the largest website in the country dedicated specifically to women’s college basketball coaching news, jobs, and rumors at all levels. WHoopDirt.com brings a unique insider perspective to the world of college basketball coaching – it was founded by college coaches as a way to help the college basketball community stay informed of what is going on in the coaching profession.

About Just Play Solutions

Just Play Solutions has become the market leader in coaches’ workflow. A platform to help coaches prepare playbooks, automate scouting reports, research analytics, integrate and distribute video, manage recruiting workflow, and organize recruiting schedules. The end-to-end platform is used by over 700 customers across the country and internationally in football, basketball, and lacrosse.