WEEK 11: WHoopDirt.com Coach of the Week presented by Pivot Analysis

Story: Adam Nelson (@HD_DirtKing)

Congratulations to the following coaches who have been selected as the Week 11 WHoopDirt.com Coach of the Week presented by Pivot Analysis. These coaches are now eligible to receive the WHoopDirt.com National Coach of the Year Award presented by Pivot Analysis which will be announced at the conclusion of the 2023-24 college basketball season.

This is the fifth season that WHoopDirt.com has run the Coach of the Week and Coach of the Year programs. The list of 2023-24 Coach of the Week winners, as well as previous Coach of the Year winners can be found below this week’s recipients.

To nominate coaches for future weeks, please email [email protected] with your selection(s).

The Week 11 winners are:

D1: Tara VanDerveer – Stanford University

Weekly record (overall): 2-0 (17-2)

Past week’s results: 88-63 W vs Oregon, 65-56 W vs Oregon State

Highlights: A historic week for a coaching legend, as Stanford’s VanDerveer became the all-time wins leader in college basketball history. In addition to passing Duke’s Mike Krzyzewski with 1,203 career wins, her #6 Cardinal stayed hot last week with two more PAC-12 wins, as they ran their record to 17-2. On Friday, Stanford took a 17-point lead into halftime, and never looked back in an 88-63 rout over Oregon for win #1,202. On Sunday, VanDerveer’s squad held Oregon State to just 37.5% shooting from the field to come away with a 65-56 victory. #1,203 also pushed Stanford’s home record this season to 12-0, and put them into a first place tie for the lead in the PAC-12 at 6-1.

NCAA D2: Molly Martin – Regis University

Weekly record (overall): 2-0 (14-3)

Past week’s results: 93-74 W vs #6 Colorado Mines, 68-51 W vs Metro State

Highlights: A big-time win for Martin and the Rangers on Friday, as they went on the road and knocked off NCAA D2 #6 Colorado Mines 93-74, snapping the Orediggers 12-game winning streak. Regis became the first RMAC team to beat Mines this season and handed them their first home loss of the year. The 93-points were a season high for Regis, and it was the first time that Colorado Mines has let off 90+ since 2008. On Saturday, they took a 30-point lead into the fourth quarter at MSU Denver and came away with a 68-51 victory, keeping their seven-game winning streak alive. Regis is now 9-2 in the RMAC, and sit just one game out of first place.

NCAA D3: Aby Diop – Dickinson College

Weekly record (overall): 2-0 (12-4)

Past week’s results: 62-38 W vs Franklin & Marshall, 49-43 W at Swarthmore

Highlights: With two more wins last week, Dickinson has now run their winning streak to seven, and remain a perfect 7-0 at home on the season. Diop’s team took a 31-12 halftime lead over Franklin & Marshall on Wednesday and never looked back en route to a 62-38 win. At Swarthmore on Saturday, Dickinson withstood a strong 3rd quarter push from the hosts to come away with a hard fought 49-43 road win. The Red Devils now sit alone in 3rd place in the Centennial Conference with a 9-2 record.

NAIA: Chad Folsom – Benedictine College

Weekly record (overall): 2-0 (12-6)

Past week’s results: 70-58 W at Peru State, 62-61 at #4 Clarke (IA)

Highlights: Benedict out rebounded Peru State 41-30, and turned them over 21 times on Wednesday as they came away with a 70-58 win on the road. On Saturday, the Ravens never trailed at previously undefeated #4 Clarke, upsetting the defending NAIA National Champions 62-61. The win snapped Clarke’s season long 16-game winning streak, and ended their 22-game streak which dated back to last season. Benedict is now 12-6 overall on the season, 10-4 in the Heart of America Athletic Conference, and 7-1 at home.

JUCO: Mike Seney – CCBC Essex

Weekly record (overall): 3-0 (13-5)

Past week’s results: 94-50 W vs Anne Arundel, 101-51 at Allegheny Maryland, 87-33 W at Garrett

Highlights: With three more wins last week, CCBC Essex and Seney have now won an unbelievable 130 straight conference games. The NJCAA D2 #5 team in the country won all three games last week by an average of 50 points (94-44), and are on a five game win streak. On the season, CCBC Essex is averaging 85.9ppg (the 6th highest total in the nation) while allowing just 58.9ppg.

Week 1

NCAA DI: Larry Vickers – Norfolk State University
NCAA DII: Megan Dzikas – Florida Southern College
NCAA DIII: Meg Barber – NYU
NAIA: Bill Harmsen – Dordt University
JUCO: MJ Baker – Northwest Florida State College

Week 2

NCAA DI: Nicki Collen – Baylor University
NCAA DII: John Nakpodia – University of District Columbia
NCAA DIII: Christin Gowan – McDaniel College
NAIA: Jeff Nickel – Georgetown College (KY)
JUCO: Kori Stephenson – Mesa CC

Week 3

NCAA DI: Wes Moore – North Carolina State
NCAA DII: Tom Shirley – Thomas Jefferson University
NCAA DIII: Juli Fulks – Transylvania University
NAIA: Ginger High Colvin – Campbellsville University
JUCO: Erika Harris – Moberly Area CC

Week 4

NCAA DI: Joye Lee-McNelis – Southern Miss
NCAA DII: Anna Kowalska  – Wheeling University
NCAA DIII: Kelly Thompson – Roger Williams University
NAIA: DeWitte Mandley – Wiley University
JUCO: Mike Helmer – Butler Community College

Week 5

NCAA DI: Jason Burton – University of North Texas
NCAA DII: Will Brown – College of St. Rose
NCAA DIII: Kate Vlahakis – Manhattanville College
NAIA: Ethan Whaley – Indiana Wesleyan University
JUCO: Bob McKinley – Weatherford College

Week 6

NCAA DI: Anthony Bozzella – Seton Hall
NCAA DII: Kurt Westendorp – Ferris State University
NCAA DIII: Hannah Iverson – UW-Stout
NAIA: Kevin Herod – Langston University
JUCO: Darryl Watkins – Rock Valley College

Week 7

NCAA DI: Christmas Holiday – no winner selected
NCAA DII: Christmas Holiday – no winner selected
NCAA DIII: Christmas Holiday – no winner selected
NAIA: Christmas Holiday – no winner selected
JUCO: Christmas Holiday – no winner selected

Week 8

NCAA DI: Cori Close – UCLA
NCAA DII: Mike Williams – Grand Valley State University
NCAA DIII: Randi Henderson – Washington University in St. Louis
NAIA: Dennis Hutter – Mayville State
JUCO: Jamarra Robinson – Indian River State College

Week 9

NCAA DI: Kenny Brooks – Virginia Tech
NCAA DII: Cleve Wright – Gannon University
NCAA DIII: KJ Krasco – Middlebury College
NAIA: Jeff Soderquist – John Brown University
JUCO: Marbely Montas – Union College

Week 10

NCAA DI: Jesyka Burks-Wiley – Florida International University
NCAA DII: Ann Hancock – Wingate University
NCAA DIII: Brian Morehouse – Hope College
NAIA: Tony Campbell – Reinhardt University
JUCO: Brock Kimball – Cisco College

Previous WHoopDirt.com / Pivot Analysis Coach of the Year Award Winners:

Division I

Division II

Division III