WEEK 10: WHoopDirt.com Coach of the Week presented by Pivot Analysis

Story: Adam Nelson (@HD_DirtKing)

Congratulations to the following coaches who have been selected as the Week 10 WHoopDirt.com Coach of the Week presented by Pivot Analysis. These coaches are now eligible to receive the WHoopDirt.com National Coach of the Year Award presented by Pivot Analysis which will be announced at the conclusion of the 2023-24 college basketball season.

This is the fifth season that WHoopDirt.com has run the Coach of the Week and Coach of the Year programs. The list of 2023-24 Coach of the Week winners, as well as previous Coach of the Year winners can be found below this week’s recipients.

To nominate coaches for future weeks, please email [email protected] with your selection(s).

The Week 10 winners are:

D1: Jesyka Burks-Wiley – Florida International University

Weekly record (overall): 2-0 (12-5)

Past week’s results: 57-52 W at New Mexico State, 83-62 W at UTEP

Highlights: Two CUSA road wins last week put FIU at 3-0 in the league, and pushed their winning streak to six games. The Panthers turned New Mexico State over 26 times en route to a 57-52 win on Thursday. FIU then travelled to UTEP on Saturday, where they only led by 4 at break, but blew it open with a 51-point second half to claim the 83-62 win.

NCAA D2: Ann Hancock – Wingate University

Weekly record (overall): 2-0 (11-4)

Past week’s results: 78-65 W vs #4 Catawba, 92-69 W vs Mars Hill

Highlights: A big-time upset for Hancock and the Bulldogs, as they knocked off #4 Catawba 78-65 on Wednesday. Wingate found themselves down 23-10 after the first period but out scored Catawba 68-42 the rest of the way to hand the visitors their first SAC loss of the season. The Bulldogs then pounded Mars Hill 92-69 on Saturday to increase their win streak to four games, and push their overall record to 11-4.

NCAA D3: Brian Morehouse – Hope College

Weekly record (overall): 2-0 (15-1)

Past week’s results: 109-42 W vs Kalamazoo, 79-77 W (2OT) vs Alma

Highlights: A big-time week for Morehouse and his #8 Flying Dutch. After handing Kalamazoo a 67-point drubbing on Wednesday, Hope had a double overtime battle with Alma on Saturday in which they prevailed 79-77. The win was a milestone for Morehouse, as he collected the 700th win of his career – which took him just 795 games to achieve. He broke collegiate and NCAA records for fastest basketball coach to 700 wins in any college division, women’s or men’s. (LSU’s Kim Mulkey previously held the NCAA record of 700 wins in 813 games). Hope now stands at 15-1 on the season and 6-0 in the MIAA.

NAIA: Tony Campbell – Reinhardt University

Weekly record (overall): 2-0 (16-0)

Past week’s results: 72-39 W vs Truett-McConnell, 85-77 W vs Johnson

Highlights: The special season continues for Reinhardt, as the Eagles remained undefeated with two more wins last week. Campbell’s crew started hot with 17-4 first quarter over Truett-McConnell on Wednesday, and never looked back on their way to a 72-39 win. On Saturday, the Eagles continued their winning ways as they topped Johnson 85-77 for their 16th win of the season. Reinhardt is also 12-0 in the Appalachian Athletic Conference, and are outscoring opponents 82.8 to 61.2 ppg (+21.6 margin of victory).

JUCO: Brock Kimball – Cisco College

Weekly record (overall): 2-0 (12-4)

Past week’s results: 71-51 W at Southwestern Christian, 85-75 W vs #18 Temple College

Highlights: Cisco opened the week on the road on Wednesday by holding Southwestern Christian to just 51 points en route to a 20 point win. On Saturday, the Wranglers won all four quarters as they knocked off NJCAA D1 #14 Temple College 85-75. The loss was the first of the season for the Leopards, who came into the game at 14-0. Cisco is now 2-0 in conference play, and riding a six game winning streak.

Week 1

NCAA DI: Larry Vickers – Norfolk State University
NCAA DII: Megan Dzikas – Florida Southern College
NCAA DIII: Meg Barber – NYU
NAIA: Bill Harmsen – Dordt University
JUCO: MJ Baker – Northwest Florida State College

Week 2

NCAA DI: Nicki Collen – Baylor University
NCAA DII: John Nakpodia – University of District Columbia
NCAA DIII: Christin Gowan – McDaniel College
NAIA: Jeff Nickel – Georgetown College (KY)
JUCO: Kori Stephenson – Mesa CC

Week 3

NCAA DI: Wes Moore – North Carolina State
NCAA DII: Tom Shirley – Thomas Jefferson University
NCAA DIII: Juli Fulks – Transylvania University
NAIA: Ginger High Colvin – Campbellsville University
JUCO: Erika Harris – Moberly Area CC

Week 4

NCAA DI: Joye Lee-McNelis – Southern Miss
NCAA DII: Anna Kowalska  – Wheeling University
NCAA DIII: Kelly Thompson – Roger Williams University
NAIA: DeWitte Mandley – Wiley University
JUCO: Mike Helmer – Butler Community College

Week 5

NCAA DI: Jason Burton – University of North Texas
NCAA DII: Will Brown – College of St. Rose
NCAA DIII: Kate Vlahakis – Manhattanville College
NAIA: Ethan Whaley – Indiana Wesleyan University
JUCO: Bob McKinley – Weatherford College

Week 6

NCAA DI: Anthony Bozzella – Seton Hall
NCAA DII: Kurt Westendorp – Ferris State University
NCAA DIII: Hannah Iverson – UW-Stout
NAIA: Kevin Herod – Langston University
JUCO: Darryl Watkins – Rock Valley College

Week 7

NCAA DI: Christmas Holiday – no winner selected
NCAA DII: Christmas Holiday – no winner selected
NCAA DIII: Christmas Holiday – no winner selected
NAIA: Christmas Holiday – no winner selected
JUCO: Christmas Holiday – no winner selected

Week 8

NCAA DI: Cori Close – UCLA
NCAA DII: Mike Williams – Grand Valley State University
NCAA DIII: Randi Henderson – Washington University in St. Louis
NAIA: Dennis Hutter – Mayville State
JUCO: Jamarra Robinson – Indian River State College

Week 9

NCAA DI: Kenny Brooks – Virginia Tech
NCAA DII: Cleve Wright – Gannon University
NCAA DIII: KJ Krasco – Middlebury College
NAIA: Jeff Soderquist – John Brown University
JUCO: Marbely Montas – Union College

Previous WHoopDirt.com / Pivot Analysis Coach of the Year Award Winners:

Division I

Division II

Division III