Week 11: WHoopDirt.com Coach of the Week presented by Pivot Analysis

By AJ Nelson, WHoopDirt.com staff writer

Congratulations to the following coaches who have been selected as the Week 11 WHoopDirt.com Coach of the Week presented by Pivot Analysis. These coaches are now eligible to receive the WHoopDirt.com National Coach of the Year Award presented by Pivot Analysis which will be announced at the conclusion of the 2020-21 college basketball season.

This is the second season that HoopDirt.com and Pivot Analysis have run the Coach of the Week and Coach of the Year programs. Last season’s weekly winners, and COY winners can be found following this weeks honorees.

This season will be a bit different, however. As college basketball adjusts to life with COVID, so will we. Not every level will be honored on a weekly basis – we will honor as many of the levels as possible provided enough games are played. It’s different than in the past, but we still hope to have enough weekly winners at each level to name a Coach of the Year (NCAA DI, D2, D3, NAIA, and JUCO) at the end of the season

To nominate coaches for future weeks, please email [email protected] with your selection(s).

The Week 11 winners are:

NCAA DI: Jarrod Olson – Cal Baptist University

Jarrod 2020 Coach Olson picked up a milestone win this week as his squad remained unbeaten on the season. The Lancers dominated New Mexico State on Friday, taking a 94-53 victory, which marked Coach Olson’s 200th with the program. Olson, who reached the milestone in just 270 games, currently possesses the highest winning percentage in program history (74.2%). The Lancers built on this win with a 70-51 victory in a rematch the following day to improve their record to 16-0 (8-0 WAC). They will next put their perfect record on the line on Friday, when they take on UTRGV in the first of a two-game road series.

NCAA DII: Toby Winn – Emporia State University

2018 Toby WynnCoach Winn’s Lady Hornets won a trio of conference games this week, taking each contest by double-digits. Emporia State forced 25 turnovers in a 79-61 victory at Missouri Western on Tuesday, before returning home to take an 86-75 triumph over Northeastern State on Thursday. The Lady Hornets then capped off the week with a dominant performance against Rogers State, never trailing in a 79-56 victory. These wins improved Emporia State’s record to 12-3 (12-3 MIAA) on the season. They are back in action tonight when they take on Central Missouri at home.

NCAA DIII: Brian Morehouse – Hope College

Brian MorehouseCoach Morehouse guided Hope to two impressive victories this week as the Flying Dutch extended their overall winning streak to 35 straight. On Wednesday, top-ranked Hope faced off against No. 5 Trine in what would be their toughest contest to date. The Flying Dutch jumped out to a 12-point lead at the end of the first quarter, eventually taking a 61-52 victory. In their next contest, Hope outscored Kalamazoo 31-3 in the third quarter on the way to a 111-30 triumph. The 81-point victory set the record for the largest win in program history. Now 6-0 on the season, the Flying Dutch kick off their conference schedule tonight as they travel to take on Olivet.

NAIA: Ericka Stuckman – University of Mobile

Erika Stuckman Photo With a pair of wins this week, Coach Stuckman’s squad reached the 10-win mark on the season. On Tuesday, the Lady Rams survived a late comeback attempt by Stillman and pulled away in overtime for a 69-62 victory. Mobile then came out with a hard-fought 62-59 triumph at Faulkner on Friday. The Lady Rams are now 10-5 (6-4 SSAC) on the season, with three of their losses having come against ranked opponents. They are back in action tonight, as they face off against No. 24 Loyola for the fourth time this season.

JUCO: Karrie Redeker – Illinois Central College

Coach Redeker led Illinois Central to three victories over NJCAA DI opponents this week. The Cougars, who entered the week at No. 9 in the NJCAA DII rankings, picked up convincing wins over Wabash Valley and Mineral Area before facing off against Moberly on Saturday afternoon. The Cougars were able to come away with a tightly-contested 59-58 victory, improving to 4-0 on the season. With these wins, Illinois Central jumped to No. 7 in the latest Top-20 poll. Their next contest comes on the road for the first time this season, as they travel to take on Danville on Thursday.

2020-21 HoopDirt.com / Just Play Solutions Coach of the Week Winners

Week 1

NCAA DI: Mike Carey – West Virginia University
NCAA DII: Nate Vogel – Texas A&M International University
NCAA DIII: No week 1 winner awarded
NAIA: Jessie Biggs – Indiana Institute of Technology
JUCO: No week 1 winner awarded

Week 2

NCAA DI: Adia Barnes – University of Arizona
NCAA DII: Jason Williams – Belmont Abbey College (NC)
NCAA DIII: Blake Arbogast – East Texas Baptist University
NAIA: Krista Van Hauen – St. Ambrose University (IA)
JUCO: No week 2 winner awarded

Week 3

NCAA DI: Amy Vachon – University of Maine
NCAA DII: Lora Westling – Western Colorado University
NCAA DIII: Polly Thomason – University of Texas Dallas
NAIA: Megan Leuzinger – Evangel University (MO)
JUCO: No week 3 winner awarded

Week 4

NCAA DI: Aaron Johnston – South Dakota State University
NCAA DII: Tanya Haave – Metropolitan State University of Denver
NCAA DIII: No week 4 winner awarded
NAIA: Ginger High Colvin – Campbellsville University (KY)
JUCO: No week 4 winner awarded

Week 5

NCAA DI: Tara VanDerveer – Stanford University
NCAA DII: No winner – mandatory DII winter break
NCAA DIII: No week 5 winner awarded
NAIA: Jeff Hans – Thomas More University (KY)
JUCO: No week 5 winner awarded

Week 6

NCAA DI: Kyra Elzy – University of Kentucky
NCAA DII: No week 6 winner awarded
NCAA DIII: Cassi Rozanski – LeTourneau University (TX)
NAIA: Grady Morrell – Webber International University (FL)
JUCO: No week 6 winner awarded

Week 7

NCAA DI: Seton Sobolewski – Idaho State University
NCAA DII: Carrie Eighney  – University of Nebraska Kearney
NCAA DIII: No week 7 winner awarded
NAIA: Courtney Boyd – Clarke University (IA)
JUCO: No week 7 winner awarded

Week 8

NCAA DI: Bill Fennelly  – Iowa State University
NCAA DII: Meagan Price – Tusculum University (TN)
NCAA DIII: Rodney Rogan – Rhodes College (TN)
NAIA: Jamie Sale – Morningside College (IA)
JUCO: No week 7 winner awarded

Week 9

NCAA DI: Jeff Walz – University of Louisville
NCAA DII: Kim Stephens – Glenville State College (WVa)
NCAA DIII: Katherine Menendez – Colorado College
NAIA: Katie Gearlds – Marian University (IN)
JUCO: Chad Gibney – Western Nebraska CC

Week 10

NCAA DI: Lisa Fortier – Gonzaga University
NCAA DII: Kari Hoffman – Cedarville University (OH)
NCAA DIII: Beth Andrews – John Carroll University (OH)
NAIA: Kellie Kennedy – Loyola University – New Orleans
JUCO: Mercedes Corona – Arkansas State University Mid-South

2019-20 WHoopDirt.com / Pivot Analysis Coach of the Year Award Winners:

Division I

Division II

Division III

  • 2019-20: Jill Pace – Tufts University (MA)



Pivot Analysis is the market leader in college basketball advanced stat generation and visualization. Their products make it easy to identify optimal lineup rotations, scout an opponent’s strengths and weaknesses, evaluate a player’s impact on the team, and identify prospects for the next level. Visit us at www.pivotanalysis.com to learn more about how our tools can be used to save you time and effort.

WHoopDirt.com is the largest website in the country dedicated specifically to women’s college basketball coaching news, jobs, and rumors at all levels. WHoopDirt.com brings a unique insider perspective to the world of college basketball coaching – it was founded by college coaches as a way to help the college basketball community stay informed of what is going on in the coaching profession.