Jackson named Head Women’s Basketball Coach at Erskine

The Erskine Women’s Basketball program has named Lisa Jackson (’07) to be the new head coach of the Flying Fleet, Athletic Director Mark Peeler announced on Friday morning.

“I have looked forward to this day for a long time. I have always felt Lisa Jackson would be the perfect fit to lead the Fleet’s women’s basketball program,” Peeler said. “She was an outstanding collegiate player in Due West, loves the game of basketball, and is passionate about providing young women an awesome collegiate experience.”

Jackson, who played for the Fleet from 2003-2007, joins the Erskine staff after spending last season as an associate head coach at Division I program, Chicago State University. She worked primarily with the guards and developing defensive strategies, as well as having the responsibility to prepare scouting reports for each opponent. In addition, she was the travel and scheduling coordinator for the Cougars.

Jackson made at least 23 appearances in all four seasons as a player in the Erskine program, totaling 102 career games played. She averaged 12.7 PPG over the course of her career and contributed on both ends, totaling 5.9 rebounds and 1.7 steals per game as well. Jackson totaled over 1,500 points in her career and was named to the All-CVAC 2nd Team in 2004-05 and 2005-06.

“I am grateful for the opportunity given to return home and make an impact on the Erskine community! I look forward to building relationships and a purpose-driven culture! Go Fleet!” Jackson said.

Jackson spent two seasons on the coaching staff of the Erskine men’s program in the late-2000’s and has also had stops at Fort Valley State, Jacksonville, Georgia Southern, Presbyterian, and Queens throughout her coaching career.

She is a 2007 graduate of Erskine (B.S. Sports Management) and returned in 2021 to earn her Masters in Practical Ministry.

Jackson takes over a program that increased its win total by seven games from the previous season and is expected to return its four leading scorers from last year.


Tagged with: